Sopwith to Compete in 43rd Tecate SCORE Baja 1000

Categories: Racing News.

Sopwith Motorsports will tackle North America’s most famous off-road race when it vies for the Trophylite class championship at the 43rd Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 this fall.

The point-to-point race begins November 17th on Mexico’s Pacific coastline at Ensenda and concludes four days later in La Paz on the Sea of Cortez.

Sopwith has joined forces with BBQ Island Motorsports, which won the Trophylite class at Baja in 2009, for its first foray into the legendary race. Team drivers will include Baja winner Mike West, short track UTV star Corry Weller, and two-time road racing champion and Trophy Truck pilot Stephen Cox.

“We are excited to have someone with Stephen’s experience along with us,” said team owner and race winner Mike West of BBQ Island. “Experienced guys always have an advantage down there. With a little patience and great people around us, we should do well.”

The Sopwith/BBQ Island Trophylite entry is a 110-inch wheelbase, 2500 lb, purpose built off-road racing truck. Painted in Molten Orange, it is the first Trophylite truck to be based on Ford’s Z-tech engine platform with race preparation by Turnkey Engines of Oceanside, CA. Photographs will be available as soon as the brand new truck is completed at the Trophylite racing shop in Phoenix.

“Joining a championship team with two winning drivers as teammates is the ideal situation,” Cox said. “BBQ Island Motorsports has the experience and the logistical planning to get it done again. They’re proven champions, and I’m fortunate to be able to contribute. Running the Baja 1000 is like participating at LeMans or Daytona… it’s a life experience that any racecar driver would love to have. I really appreciate Mike and the BBQ Island team bringing me on board.”

About the 43rd Tecate SCORE Baja 1000

The SCORE Baja 1000 is an off-road race that takes place on Mexico’s Baja California Peninsula in the fall. The first official race started in Tijuana, Baja California, on October 31, 1967, and was named the NORRA Mexican 1000 Rally. The start is traditionally held in Ensenada but has been held in Tijuana and Mexicali as well. The course length varies for a point-to-point but is often over 1,000 miles. Past race winners include Parnelli Jones, Ivan Stewart and Robby Gordon. Notable participants include Roberto Guerrero, Steve McQueen, Rod Millen, Paul Newman, Travis Pastrana and Mickey Thompson.

About Stephen Cox

After more than 20 years of racing, Stephen has proven to be among the most versatile drivers in the sport. His driving résumé includes winged formula Atlantics, Rolex sports cars, Busch series stock cars, Trophy Trucks, GT-2 and production superstock road racers, ARCA trucks, open wheel modifieds, dirt cars and rally cars. In addition to two road racing championships, he’s posted wins on dirt and asphalt ovals in both full fender and open wheel cars. In 2008, Stephen notched a Top Ten class finish in his first-ever desert race at the Henderson Fabtech Desert Classic. Stephen was the official factory test driver for Mitsubishi’s Lancer Evolution supercar. When he’s not in the cockpit, Cox is frequently found producing and hosting motorsports broadcasts. He currently co-hosts the Mecum Auto Auction on HD Theater. Stephen also anchors and produces Best in the Desert TV on Fox Sports and Outdoor Channel, as well as the Trophylite racing series.

General Tire sponsors Sopwith Motorsports television programs.

Mastercraft Safety supplies Stephen Cox’s racing gear.

Facebook Comments